MyCarMatch.com
728 x 90 leaderboard

Search Results

Keyword search

The V60 T5 AWD Cross Country is powered by a 2.5-liter five-cylinder turbocharged engine that produces 250 horsepower @ 5,400 rpm and 266 lb.-ft. of torque @ 1,800-4,200 rpm.

Skip the crossover

2015 Volvo V60 T5 AWD Cross Country review notes

05/04/2015

EDITOR WES RAYNAL: I like station wagons, and this one is no exception. It looks good to me, sleek and low key. The interior is pretty, build quality is quite good, and the seats are just awesome. I still think Volvo’s seats lead the car biz. Backseat room is OK, but not great. If I had one beef about the inside, it’s that there are a whole lot of buttons in there; I didn’t count them all, but it’s more than I like to deal with.

The car drives well, the ride is soft and ably soaks up road imperfections, and there’s decent power here, especially above 3,000 rpm. Acceleration is neither quick nor slow. On the freeway, it’s luxury-car quiet inside. In fact, I think the excellent freeway manners might be one of the best things about the car. The steering is well assisted without feeling synthetic or overboosted.

Overall, it’s a stylish and clean-looking wagon. It’s worth a look.

 

ROAD TEST EDITOR JAKE LINGEMAN:

There’s a lot of power in the 2015 Volvo S60 T6 Platinum and all of it is widely and easily accessible thanks to Volvo’s turbo-supercharging efforts.

2015 Volvo S60 T6 Platinum review notes

02/11/2015

ASSOCIATE EDITOR GRAHAM KOZAK: If this four-cylinder is the future of Volvo powertrains, I’m in. There’s a lot of power here, all of it widely and easily accessible thanks to Volvo’s turbo-supercharging efforts. It punches way above its 2.0 liters and it’s smooth and fuel-efficient to boot; what else could you want?

If the engine seems like a big leap forward, other parts of the S60 seem to be more or less unchanged. That’s not necessarily bad; I love the way the car looks inside and out -- very mature. This package seems destined to age well. The seats remain super comfortable while still offering more than ample support, and controls remain intuitive and simple.

If only the underpinnings could be as well-balanced as the seats. Instead, it’s a somewhat muddled compromise between comfort and composure; the car “thunks” over potholes and uneven road surfaces without the communicative certainty of a sport chassis or the plushness of a cushy luxury chassis. There’s a lot of roll, and steering is light and numb.

Only 40 lucky enthusiasts will be able to own a 2015 Volvo S60 Polestar if they’re willing to throw down $60K.

2015 Volvo S60 Polestar review notes

01/28/2015

ROAD TEST EDITOR JONATHAN WONG: Only 40 lucky (crazy?) enthusiasts will be able to own a 2015 Volvo S60 Polestar if they’re willing to throw down $60K. That’s a lot of loot -- nearly BMW M3 money, which starts at $62,950. Is the Polestar worth that kind of money? Whew. I’m not sure, but there’s no mistaking that there is some serious equipment here, along with a little extra grunt.

The 3.0-liter inline six-cylinder is here and kicks out 20 additional horsepower and 15 lb-ft more torque compared to the same engine S60 R-Design. That’s a respectable output bump coming by way of massaged engine management software, a stainless exhaust with 2.5-inch pipes, new twin-scroll Borg Warner turbochargers and new intercooler.

Polestar also did work to the transmission with new calibration for quicker gearshifts and launch control capabilities. The Haldex four-wheel-drive system also has Polestar tuning for more rear torque distribution, and the stability control system has been massaged.

The T5 Drive-E engine is new for 2015, and offers 240 hp.

2015 Volvo S60 T5 Drive-E first drive

01/02/2015

What is it?

Volvo is in the midst of a product revolution, and while the limelight for the moment has been grabbed by the all-new XC90 SUV and the debut of the V60 Cross Country, Volvo also made a few crucial changes to the S60 and V60 cars while no one was looking.

The second generation S60 has been on sale since 2011, so it's still relatively fresh, but new for 2015 is the Drive-E family of engines. This new four-cylinder engine family will be found in just about every Volvo in the next couple years. While the engine itself is new, the T5 and T6 badging traditionally appended to five-cylinder and six-cylinder variants of the S60 is staying. In other words, the turbocharged S60 T5 Drive-E produces 240 hp and 258 lb-ft of torque, while the T6 Drive-E adds supercharging, for an output of 302 hp and 295 lb-ft of torque. Both versions of the four-cylinder feature the new eight-speed Geartronic automatic transmission with manual shift capability.

2015 Volvo V60 T5 Drive-E review notes

08/13/2014

DIGITAL EDITOR ANDREW STOY: I’ll confess to having kind of written Volvo off lately -- though the cars have been solid entries, sales have been low enough to inspire whispered rumors of the brand’s imminent demise. For comparison’s sake, the Lexus ES and Mercedes E-class each outsold Volvo’s entire lineup in July 2014. Even perennial dead-brand-walking Mitsubishi sold more cars.

In this 2015 Volvo V60 T5 Drive-E, though, there are signs of a Volvo renaissance. So far we’ve heard plenty of lip service paid to Volvo’s future, mainly from its ever-cheerful executives, but this car is the first tangible evidence that the last remaining Swede could have a very bright future indeed.

Our V60 tester gets the brand’s new, and soon to be ubiquitous, 2.0-liter I4 featuring turbocharging and direct injection in this state of tune. It’s backed by an eight-speed automatic per current custom, and the combination suits the family sport-wagon dynamic just about perfectly. Yes, it’s still FWD but you can get AWD if you need it (you probably don’t), and only the purists will gripe -- torque steer is almost nonexistent, and vibration through the wheel is equally absent.

Volvo's S60 does just fine with its base engine.

2014 Volvo S60 T5 Premier Plus review notes

06/04/2014 ROAD TEST EDITOR JONATHAN WONG: We tallied plenty of experience with Volvo's S60 in R-Design trim, having spent a year with one in our long-term fleet a few years back. Our bright red sedan was a great car, with a lot of power from the turbocharged inline six-cylinder getting to the ground through its all-wheel-drive system. I made a few road trips in it and absolutely loved the seats in that thing.Now, for the 2014 model year, Volvo has updated the S60 on the outside along with some fresh touches inside. The majority of the work takes place up front, with a new bumper, a new hood, new front fenders, a lower front spoiler and a grille with a larger Volvo emblem, in addition to LED daytime-running lights. The rear has a new integrated exhaust-pipe design. So nothing over the top has been done, which is good. Overall, the S60 has been and remains an attractive sedan with just enough attitude. Cabin updates are mostly small, like cloth-wrapped B-pillar covers. Metal trim is ad
European refinement and a sporty character.

2014 Volvo S60 T6 R-Design review notes

04/01/2014 WEST COAST EDITOR MARK VAUGHN: Even though the 2014 model has a facelifted front end and redone interior, the Volvo S60T6 R-Design still manages to give me the anonymity I crave with the sporty feel I love. Anonymous and fun to drive in the city -- that's what I'd say after a weekend in it. Unless you have a BMW M5, hardly anyone's going to take a larger sedan like this to an autocross. So rather than alienate most buyers with a harsh suspension fit only for a racetrack, Volvo has managed to straddle sporty and luxurious and deliver a car that makes everyday urban driving a little more fun than it might otherwise be. The R-Design trim level gets actual performance enhancements, too, and not just those stickers and wings. Yes, it gets the silly aerodynamic cosmetics that I would just as soon do without, as well as the R-Design aluminum i
The turbocharged inline six has more than enough power for the 2014 Volvo XC60.

2014 Volvo XC60 T6 Platinum review notes

02/07/2014 SENIOR MOTORSPORTS EDITOR MAC MORRISON: I wouldn't be entirely happy with an XC60 without the turbocharged inline six-cylinder, but with it Volvo offers a stylish, reasonably powered, sleek and clean-looking midsized crossover/SUV that rides smooth and looks the part of a relatively up-level cruiser/commuter.It's easy to appreciate some of the minor changes to the 2014 model, including the revised front fascia and some small touches to the interior's markings and lighting. The optional Inscription package's leather is top-notch and inviting, and this XC60's overall presentation and driving characteristics had me describing the experience several times as “warm and inviting,” while at the same time providing sure-footed, confidence-inspiring performance in snow and icy conditions.Acceleration is neither notably quick nor slow but rather what you'd expect in an upgraded Volvo. The steering
The turbocharged inline six has more than enough power for the 2014 Volvo XC60.

2014 Volvo XC60 T6 Platinum review notes

02/06/2014 SENIOR MOTORSPORTS EDITOR MAC MORRISON: I wouldn't be entirely happy with an XC60 without the turbocharged inline six-cylinder, but with it Volvo offers a stylish, reasonably powered, sleek and clean-looking midsized crossover/SUV that rides smooth and looks the part of a relatively up-level cruiser/commuter.It's easy to appreciate some of the minor changes to the 2014 model, including the revised front fascia and some small touches to the interior's markings and lighting. The optional Inscription package's leather is top-notch and inviting, and this XC60's overall presentation and driving characteristics had me describing the experience several times as “warm and inviting,” while at the same time providing sure-footed, confidence-inspiring performance in snow and icy conditions.Acceleration is neither notably quick nor slow but rather what you'd expect in an upgraded Volvo. The steering is comforta
The 2014 Volvo S60 R-Design is a rather peppy Volvo.

2014 Volvo S60 R-Design review notes

01/10/2014 ASSOCIATE EDITOR GRAHAM KOZAK: Growing up, Volvos always seemed like respectable cars to me: clean, solid, stylishly understated and above all else, safe. In other words, they were the perfect yuppie mobile. I never thought of them as performance cars, though, so this 2014 Volvo S60 T6 R-Design took some getting used to. To start, it's not a brick visually. In fact, it looks good and modern (though I do have a soft spot for those old 240s); front overhang is minimal for a FWD-based AWD car, perhaps because that straight-six is shoved into the engine compartment sideways. The look isn't overly masculine, but to my delight it isn't excessively sculpted. And it looks good in whatever color you order, from the screaming blue to red to a dark gray or black. For a Scandinavian car, the interior is suitably austere -- not a lot to be distracted by once you look away from the dials and rectangular cluster of buttons on the center console. Not a lot to get excited about, either, but

Get A New Car Price Quote!

Browse Our Used Car Listings

Latest News

The image the company sent to future owners who have made deposits is a lightly photoshopped sketch that Britain's Autocar magazine published in March of this year.

TVR makes progress on new Cosworth V8, teases owners with Autocar's sketch

12/29/2015

TVR, the boutique British automaker run aground in 2006 after purchase by a Russian oligarch, is back with plenty of deposits on an undisclosed coupe and a teaser image photoshopped from an Autocar magazine sketch. The fledgeling car company is at work on a new coupe powered by a Cosworth V8 with an expected output of 450 to 500 hp, though it won't be until 2018 that customers will be able to take delivery of the cars. The factory has to be built first, even though the first year's allocation is already sold out.

TVR Chairman Les Edgar gave the future owners of the new coupe a progress report, stating that the company is running at least one engineering mule that has been operating on roads, and that they've recently fired up one of the Cosworth V8s.

Watch F1 cars rip up a mountain in Japan

12/29/2015

Two ex-Formula One cars plus one mountain road equals an epic video shot in Japan by Motor Head Magazine.

It's not too often you see open-wheel cars on public roads -- the Stallone vehicle "Driven" notwithstanding -- but something about it makes the cars look even better than when they're on the racetrack. After the F1 cars have a go, they're followed by some drifters who are nearly as impressive.

The camerawork is also great, so check out more of Motor Head's stuff here.

728 x 90 leaderboard