MyCarMatch.com
728 x 90 leaderboard

Search Results

Keyword search

2015 Mitsubishi Outlander SE S-AWC review notes

12/12/2014

SENIOR ROAD TEST EDITOR NATALIE NEFF: “A Mitsubishi. It’s a really good color.” That was the most I could muster as I walked into the house, my husband wondering about what I’d just parked in the driveway. “An Endeavor?” he asked, looking out the back window toward the garage. “No, an Outlander.”

Mitsubishi has a problem when neither half of a two-car-writer household recognizes its vehicles -- or even realizes that it’s been three years since a particular model went out of production. I think I’ve said this before, but honestly, most days I forget that Mitsubishi even makes cars. “What about the Evolution?” you say. Good question. At least for me, the Evo feels more like a standalone than a member of a wider Mitsu family of automobiles.

On the website, Mitsubishi declares the Outlander “award-winning,” but digging further, the accolade cited by Mitsubishi is one of the “10 Most Affordable 3-Row Vehicles” as dubbed by Kelley Blue Book’s KBB.com. But let’s be real, it’s hardly what I’d call a bona fide award; rather, it’s more a statement, along the lines of, “Chevrolet Cruze Is One Of America’s 4-Door Sedans.”

Two electric cars, plenty of California highway beneath their tires, and range anxiety banished.

Electrifying driving with the 2014 Tesla Model S P85+ and Mitsubishi i-MiEV ES

10/14/2014

In the Race Organizer Review series, your Race Organizer travels the country with the 24 Hours of LeMons Traveling Circus in my role as Chief Justice of the LeMons Supreme Court, putting various new vehicles through the real-world punishments meted out by the itinerant race organizer's lifestyle. In recent months, we've seen the Chevy Sonic RS in Illinois, the Subaru Impreza 2.0i Sport in Utah, and the Chrysler 300 SRT in New Jersey. This time, though, your Race Organizer decided to eschew internal combustion entirely for a pair of California trips, opting for cars at opposite ends of the EV price spectrum: the Mitsubishi i-MiEV ES and the Tesla Model S P85+.

Mitsubishi’s Outlander Sport gets the job done at a heck of a price.

2014 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport SE review notes

08/08/2014

SENIOR ROAD TEST EDITOR NATALIE NEFF: I have to admit, I can go for long stretches where I never once think of Mitsubishi Motors, and when I do, it may take me a second to not confuse it with Suzuki, which doesn’t even exist anymore (at least as a maker of vehicles that find their way Stateside). Were an occasion to arise where someone dropped the word “Mitsubishi” into casual conversation, I might even picture a television set before I think of something with four wheels, which is doubly odd given 1.) I’m not sure Mitsu even MAKES televisions anymore; and 2.) I’ve been writing about cars for nigh on 19 years now, so EVERYTHING reminds me of something on four wheels.

That said, this little 2014 Outlander Sport SE surprised me, and not in a bad way. Just looking over the brief specs, you wouldn’t be faulted for guessing this little ute tends towards the, ahem, not-so-fast side of the automotive spectrum, given its whopping 148 hp and CVT. It definitely is not in a hurry to get anywhere very quickly. Still, it’s a comfortable vehicle, and I found the simplicity of the interior design and layout so refreshing. Some of the materials could be of better quality, but practically speaking, I couldn’t fault it for much. Installing my rear-facing car seat in the back was a cinch; the flat seat bottoms were a great help to that end. It rides and handles decently enough, but where all of this came together to form an acceptable proposition to me was the sticker. I feel like the Outlander Sport SE offers a rare value at under $25,000 (under $20K for base models). Throw in a 10-year/100,000-mile powertrain warranty, a top safety rating and styling that doesn’t scream “I settled!” and it might be worth a look fo

Mitsubishi keeps it real simple with the Mirage.

2014 Mitsubishi Mirage ES review notes

04/18/2014 ASSOCIATE EDITOR GRAHAM KOZAK: I think I'm one of maybe three auto writers who do not despise this car. Part of it is that, in the back of my mind, I'm hoping that the Mirage meets sales objectives so I can buy a Lancer Evolution some day soon. (Yes, I'm fully aware that the Lancer Evolution may be a lost cause.) The rest of it probably has as much to do with the marketing campaign around the Mirage, or the lack of it, as it does with the car itself. The Mirage doesn't promise to be a popularity-enhancing lifestyle centerpiece. It's not imbued with the spirit of Mitsubishi's great rally machines. It's not a jaw-dropping work of automotive art. Its objectives were to offer more features and higher fuel economy than its competitors at an affordable price point. It is supposed to be a car that debt-laden millennials and old people who just don't give a crap will be able to tolerate. It meets its objectives.
The new Mitsubishi Mirage looks much like all the other cute little gas-sipper hatchbacks these days.

2014 Mitsubishi Mirage

Econobox road trip!

01/30/2014 We took a look at the 2014 Mitsubishi Mirage a few months back, and judged the brand's new city car to be a perfectly competent -- but unexciting -- cheap-but-honest commuter. Having done far more than my share of marathon road trips in cheap little cars over the last three decades, I decided it would be interesting to take Mitsubishi's latest on my most-traveled long-haul drive: Los Angeles to Oakland via Interstate 5. This trip in, say, a '75 Honda Civic or a '90 Toyota Tercel EZ or an '03 Kia Rio, becomes something of an endurance test; you turn up the scratchy AM radio to drown out the wind noise and struggle to pass 18-wheelers. But this
The 2014 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution GSR lacks interior sound deadening materials.

2014 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution GSR review notes

12/10/2013 ASSOCIATE EDITOR GRAHAM KOZAK: If your first impulse is, after considering the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution and its $40,000 price tag, to roll your eyes and scoff, I don't blame you. It's weird to think that Mitsubishi, of all companies, would take an entry-level sedan, hop it up to 291 hp (hardly impressive by modern standards), tack an extremely Fast and excessively Furious wing on the trunk and then try and pass it off as a world-beater. The Lancer Evolution really is a bit of a throwback where philosophy and construction are concerned. But here's the thing: it works. Tuck yourself into the Recaro up front and you'll find that there is no “sport” switch to throw. Suspension is not adjustable on the fly. (With settings for “tarmac,” “gravel” and “snow,” the Super-All Wheel Control system -- S-AWC -- is just about the only toggle-able system on the car.) Look in the back and you'll find that there is a piece
Now THIS is the sort of car a race organizer is expected to drive to the track!

2014 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution GSR

Race Organizer Review

11/13/2013 As a race official with the 24 Hours of LeMons series, I roam the country in carny fashion and spend many hours hauling weird equipment and fellow LeMons staffers from airport to hotel to track and back again. It's important to make a good impression on the racers, so, instead of taking the usual rental Captiva or Sonic to the Chubba Cheddar Enduro at Road America, I went with a Cosmic Blue 2014 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution GSR. Last month, I took a 2014 Mitsubishi Lancer GT to the Gator-O-Rama LeMons at MSR Houston, and it proved a very practical -- but invisible -- Race Organizer Ride.
The Evo is a great track car, but doesn't make the best daily driver

2013 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution GSR review notes

A pure performer

06/05/2013 DIGITAL EDITOR ANDREW STOY: I've had several occasions to drive the current-generation Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X, and it's always a love/hate experience. In its element, dicing through cones or cutting apexes on a track, the Evo manages to vanish from around its driver. You can perform a maneuver, work some automotive magic and at the end be surprised it was so easy to do well. It's natural to credit yourself because the car is so silly competent that it never seems to be working hard; the result is you think you're a hell of a driver.Whether you are or not is a moot point: The Evo doesn't particularly care unless you're trying to do some kind of Ken Block backward-sliding parallel-park stunt. It seems to enjoy having fun, revving high and just generally being a hoon.And, like your hoon buddies (should you have any), there are times you want the Evo around and times you don't. Those who look at the specs and the four doors and think they could make a
The 2014 Mitsubishi Outlander still looks a bit odd, but the interior and driving dynamics are much improved.

2014 Mitsubishi Outlander SUV drive review

A healthy leap over a low bar

03/18/2013 What is it?Back in the 1980s, Mitsubishi built funky vehicles that were at least on the technological cutting edge. Cars such as the Starion ESI-R, the first-generation Diamond Star Eclipses and the Diamante were definitely off the beaten path, but they offered solid value, good performance and gizmos galore for the day. Then came the Lost Decade in Japan: Starting around 1991, the economic climate gradually eroded Mitsubishi's cash flow and consequently their ability to develop competitive new products. Worse still, even the minor facelifts the company's limited budget allowed seemed to go drastically wrong: witness the final Diamantes imported to th
The biggest problem with the attractive 2012 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport SE is that it isn't terribly sporty to drive.

2012 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport SE review notes

Attractive looks, but a disappointing drivetrain

11/14/2012 EXECUTIVE EDITOR ROGER HART: There are lots of things I like about the 2012 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport SE, but the CVT would be a deal-breaker. I like the looks, which steal some cues from the Lancer Evolution—a good idea. The car has a nice aggressive look to it, and as little crossovers go, I would rank this, looks-wise, near the very top.The interior is comfortable, and I like the rim lighting around the headliner. Nice little touch.The navigation screen is nice and big and the sound system rocks. Just open up the hatch to look at the size of the sub-woofer—it's a big one.The 148 hp four-cylinder is anemic, hampered more so by the CVT. Interestingly, the thing has nice, big, steering column-mounted paddle shifters. So they somehow built in some steps into the CVT, which would, to my non-engineering sense, seem to defeat the purpose. This thing would be a blast with 60 more h

Get A New Car Price Quote!

Browse Our Used Car Listings

Latest News

The image the company sent to future owners who have made deposits is a lightly photoshopped sketch that Britain's Autocar magazine published in March of this year.

TVR makes progress on new Cosworth V8, teases owners with Autocar's sketch

12/29/2015

TVR, the boutique British automaker run aground in 2006 after purchase by a Russian oligarch, is back with plenty of deposits on an undisclosed coupe and a teaser image photoshopped from an Autocar magazine sketch. The fledgeling car company is at work on a new coupe powered by a Cosworth V8 with an expected output of 450 to 500 hp, though it won't be until 2018 that customers will be able to take delivery of the cars. The factory has to be built first, even though the first year's allocation is already sold out.

TVR Chairman Les Edgar gave the future owners of the new coupe a progress report, stating that the company is running at least one engineering mule that has been operating on roads, and that they've recently fired up one of the Cosworth V8s.

Watch F1 cars rip up a mountain in Japan

12/29/2015

Two ex-Formula One cars plus one mountain road equals an epic video shot in Japan by Motor Head Magazine.

It's not too often you see open-wheel cars on public roads -- the Stallone vehicle "Driven" notwithstanding -- but something about it makes the cars look even better than when they're on the racetrack. After the F1 cars have a go, they're followed by some drifters who are nearly as impressive.

The camerawork is also great, so check out more of Motor Head's stuff here.

728 x 90 leaderboard