MyCarMatch.com
728 x 90 leaderboard

Search Results

Keyword search

2015 Land Rover Range Rover Evoque Pure Premium review notes

03/20/2015

ASSOCIATE EDITOR GRAHAM KOZAK: I’ll come right out and say that I just don’t get the Range Rover Evoque. For one, I don’t understand where it fits in the Land Rover family (even as I fully comprehend the market case for it). While Range Rovers have long since ceased to be rugged-but-charming work vehicles with endearing/infuriating “quirks,” most of the brand’s offerings can at least trace their respective lineages to something functional. But not this thing. I also think it’s ugly; the longer I stare at it, the more dated it looks.

Anyway, I figured I’d be upfront with my biases, because my irrational hatred for this car only made my stint behind the wheel that much more frustrating. The problem was I couldn’t really find anything terribly wrong with it, objectively speaking. 

First, the motor was not disappointing; that 2.0-liter feels like a stout powerplant, and if anything, I’d want a more gradual throttle tip-in. Tap the throttle, and this thing wants to go. Steering was pleasantly direct.

The Land Rover Discovery Sport SUV plies the back roads of Iceland.

2015 Land Rover Discovery Sport first drive

01/22/2015

What is it?

As one Land Rover official put it, the 2015 Land Rover Discovery Sport is nothing less than the "most important SUV in five years." Sounds like he's exaggerating -- he's British, after all. Still, when you consider 2014 was a record sales year for Land Rover (51,000 sold in the U.S.), it's clear the new seven-seat-capable Discovery Sport has some weight on its shoulders to keep the momentum going.

Meant to take on the Audi Q5 and BMW X3, the new compact(ish) SUV was shown as a concept at the New York auto show last spring. It will be sold alongside the 10-year-old LR4 starting this spring and, up against that model, the Discovery Sport looks like a huge departure -- much sportier, cleaner and less upright, with big wheels pushed out to the corners. 

2014 Land Rover LR4 HSE review notes

07/31/2014

SENIOR MOTORSPORTS EDITOR MAC MORRISON: The LR4 has never been my first choice in the Land Rover range, mostly due to its exterior styling and proportions appearing a little dated to my eyes, but this mild refresh for the 2014 model year LR4 improves it a bit, and our test car's optional $3,500 Black Design Package even made me think it looks sharp, at least from certain angles.

The new 3.0-liter supercharged powertrain gets the job done; the ZF-supplied eight-speed changes up and down fluidly, and it seemed to find the right gear for each situation I found myself in. However, I do wonder how the power reduction would fare once I loaded the LR4 to its high roof with enough supplies to last a week in the GMC Yukon. This Land Rover’s curb weight alone exceeds two and a half tons; if I were a potential purchaser, I’d attempt to have a trailer nearby the dealership so I could load the LR4 up during my test drive, though I’d probably have to figure out a scheme to equip the SUV with a trailer hitch.

A long-wheelbase Range Rover is well worth it.

2014 Land Rover Range Rover Autobiography LWB review notes

06/26/2014 SENIOR MOTORSPORTS EDITOR MAC MORRISON: Took a quick hop to Indianapolis Motor Speedway and back, and though I can daydream of many vehicles suited ideally to the task, this long-wheelbase Land Rover Range Rover Autobiography is definitely in my first tier of road-tripping all-stars … well, aside from its wallet-draining fuel consumption. I used almost an entire tankfull strictly for highway driving, and despite the use of the engine's automatic stop/start function for the times I was on stop-and-go roads -- and the fact I rarely struck the 80-mph barrier throughout the heavily policed roads of Indiana and Ohio -- the supercharged V8 delivered less than 18 mpg. But if you have $144K to burn right out of your gate on a luxury sport SUV, complaining afterward about the cost of fuel strikes me as, oh, just a wee bit preposterous. No one needs a loaded-to-the-eyeballs Range Rover, after all.Ah, but yessir, you quickly understand the people who do want one. The Range Rover, first off, r
Nicer and a tad more efficient with the V6.

2014 Land Rover Range Rover HSE review notes

04/23/2014 EDITOR WES RAYNAL: Does this 2014 Land Rover Range HSE look like a minivan to you? Doesn't to me either, but this morning I got pulled over and, long story short, the officer thought he'd nabbed a minivan he got speeding on his radar. But I digress…It's no secret around here I love me some Range Rover. Always have, even when they were -- ahem -- not the planet's most reliable SUVs.In my opinion to this day the Range Rover is about the only car/truck available that you can bash around in the woods and mud all day then hose it off and drive it to the opera or a black tie dinner that night. I also happen to think Land Rover/Range Rover is one of the great global brand names in cardom. That goes for Jeep, too.I love the stories I've heard about how Land Rover was working on the first Range Rover prototypes back in the '60s. Engineers developed the chassis and suspension then hung crude body panels on it just so they could drive and test it on the streets. Land Ro
The 2014 Land Rover Range Rover Sport HSE is a lot of vehicle for the money.

2014 Land Rover Range Rover Sport HSE review notes

01/30/2014 DIGITAL EDITOR ANDREW STOY: I'm kind of surprised to find myself writing this, but around $75K doesn't seem like too bad a deal for this 2014 Land Rover Range Rover Sport HSE. It's big, attractive and sumptuous inside, and the supercharged V6 does a fine job moving the brute around. Add in all the extras -- aluminum tread plates, adaptive cruise control, huge moonroof -- and you're cruising in a loaded Rangie for the price of a decent BMW 5-series or Audi A6. I would have put this truck closer to the $100K mark not only based on its equipment level, but also based on the sticker prices of other, similar Land Rover products I've driven. I heard some complaints around the office about the new blown V6, and I'm not among its detractors. I found it adequately smooth for a big SUV, and there was plenty of power whenever I needed i
Land Rover LR4 test drive and review, plus photo gallery.

2013 Land Rover LR4 HSE review notes

10/04/2013 ASSOCIATE EDITOR JAKE LINGEMAN: I'm not normally a fan of the styling of the LR4. I think it looks silly with the window that wraps over the top. It sits bolt upright on the road and looks like it might tip over when on rough terrain. Like all Rovers, the interior is plush. The seats are comfy, give you a great view of the road, and I even like the armrest that gets adjusted through that little wheel.The cooler box is a nice feature; I could see throwing a few cans of pop in there for a long trip, though it wouldn't fit much more. I also like the two-piece tailgate, one opens up, the other is perfect for sitting. The sunroof is a great feature and on the nice days of the weekend, I had it open all the way. After rain though, water would spill into the car whenever I hit the brake. I'm sure LR can put a little gutter or something on the lip to stop that from happening.The 5.0-liter V8 makes more than enough power. Every time I drive something with this engine it makes me wonder why people go for the 500-hp version in the Range Rover
Unless you're dying to have the cheapest Land Rover, you're better off ponying up for an Evoque or looking elsewhere.

2013 Land Rover LR2 HSE review notes

Far from the best Land Rover product.

07/31/2013 DIGITAL EDITOR ANDREW STOY: “Shoemaker, stick to thy last,” said no one in 70 years. But the sentiment is apropos: Focus on what you do well. For Land Rover, that would be the construction and marketing of large, overbuilt, pseudo-rugged luxury SUVs. Whether a Range Rover swaddled in leather or a Defender bounding across the Outback, Land Rover is good at big, tough and expensive (yes, the Evoque is an exception, but we'll get to that).The LR2 (or Freelander 2 for much of the rest of the world), on the other hand, is a soft-roader in the same vein as the Ford Escape, Toyota RAV4 and Honda CR-V
The 2013 Land Rover Range Rover Supercharged is luxurious and spacious.

2013 Land Rover Range Rover Supercharged review

Everything a luxury sport utility truck should be

07/08/2013 EDITOR WES RAYNAL: I love this 2013 Land Rover Range Rover Supercharged. Not going deny it. I drove it in rainy and muddy Morocco on the preview. From that experience I wrote things like “we weren't impressed that the truck handled it all [I was referring to the nasty Moroccan roads made worse from all the rain]. Of course it did -- we expected nothing less. What did impress us was the ease and smoothness with which it took everything we could throw at it on road and off. It drives like the best luxury cars…”And: “The air suspension kept the body much more controlled than the outgoing model, thus roll in corners was reduced making it handle way better than any 5,000-pound SUV has a right to…”Now, driving one locally, my first experience is underscored. This is just one hell of a truck. Not very scientific or analytical -- I get that. But it's the truth. It looks terrific outside and is beautifully built inside. It smoothes the worst of Detroit's potholes to the point where you don't feel them -- other autom
The 2013 Range Rover Evoque is a five-door delight.

2013 Land Rover Range Rover Evoque review notes

A fashion statement crossover

06/11/2013 DIGITAL EDITOR ANDREW STOY: Why is it a vehicle can frustrate during one drive then charm during another? I look back at my notes on the Range Rover Evoque coupe we had in here a few months back and recall being decidedly unimpressed by the overall package. Yet this five-door Evoque was a delight in which to spend time; quiet and powerful with a gorgeous interior showing few of the warts I encountered in my original drive.The weather couldn't have hurt: Spring is here and the glass roof splashed sunshine all over the creamy soft-touch leather interior. Light traffic meant I could stretch out the turbo four a bit on the freeway, and I found myself consistently surprised at my speeds -- the Evoque is one of those deceptively quick vehicles that gets moving faster than the aural and butt-dyno cues would suggest.Otherwise, the little Land Rover is basically a fashion statement for

Get A New Car Price Quote!

Browse Our Used Car Listings

Latest News

The image the company sent to future owners who have made deposits is a lightly photoshopped sketch that Britain's Autocar magazine published in March of this year.

TVR makes progress on new Cosworth V8, teases owners with Autocar's sketch

12/29/2015

TVR, the boutique British automaker run aground in 2006 after purchase by a Russian oligarch, is back with plenty of deposits on an undisclosed coupe and a teaser image photoshopped from an Autocar magazine sketch. The fledgeling car company is at work on a new coupe powered by a Cosworth V8 with an expected output of 450 to 500 hp, though it won't be until 2018 that customers will be able to take delivery of the cars. The factory has to be built first, even though the first year's allocation is already sold out.

TVR Chairman Les Edgar gave the future owners of the new coupe a progress report, stating that the company is running at least one engineering mule that has been operating on roads, and that they've recently fired up one of the Cosworth V8s.

Watch F1 cars rip up a mountain in Japan

12/29/2015

Two ex-Formula One cars plus one mountain road equals an epic video shot in Japan by Motor Head Magazine.

It's not too often you see open-wheel cars on public roads -- the Stallone vehicle "Driven" notwithstanding -- but something about it makes the cars look even better than when they're on the racetrack. After the F1 cars have a go, they're followed by some drifters who are nearly as impressive.

The camerawork is also great, so check out more of Motor Head's stuff here.

728 x 90 leaderboard