MyCarMatch.com
728 x 90 leaderboard

Search Results

Keyword search

2015 Chrysler Town & Country S review notes

Tried and true

09/22/2015

EDITOR WES RAYNAL: If I’m remembering right, I haven’t driven a Town & Country since our long termer, the white one, six years ago. Six years! That car wore a $32,700 sticker. We put almost 33K on the beloved “Norge,” so called because of its gleaming white paint, boxy shape and practicality. To us, it was a refrigerator on wheels. The Norge went all 365 days in Autoweek fleet service without ANY repairs needed beyond scheduled maintenance. It spent zero days out of the office.

The 4.0-liter V6 pulled strongly enough to squeal front rubber at launch from the first day to the last. Oh sure, the Norge loosened up some over the year, but not to the point of creating noticeable squeaks, vibrations or rattles.

We came to love the Norge for its unparalleled functionality. The good news is everything on this new one is familiar -- Chrysler hasn’t changed a thing. At least nothing I can tell.

The Chrysler 300C Platinum gets a 363-hp Hemi V8.

2015 Chrysler 300C Platinum review notes

The most American?

07/06/2015

DIGITAL EDITOR ANDREW STOY: Do you like "American" cars?

Why the quotes? Because the 300C is built in Canada by an Italian conglomerate based in Belgium. Its Hemi V8 is assembled in Mexico.

But from behind the wheel, the 300C Platinum is one of the most American cars I've driven in a long time. It's a big, beefy RWD sedan with a proper V8 engine and a smooth automatic transmission. It's got the power to effortlessly eat up interstate miles, a trunk that'll hold some focus-group-determined number of golf bags and a driveshaft tunnel that your kids' friends will always get stuck straddling on long drives.

I love it, and that surprised me a bit.

Despite reassurances from Chrysler PR folks, I assumed that the 300, through all its facelifts and redesigns, was fundamentally the same car it's been for a decade now. To the extent there's still an LX platform under the skin, that's true, but the style, NVH and road manners have been massaged to the point where the 300C is a thoroughly contemporary machine. All the requisite driver aids, electronic nannies and infotainment options are present. Heated, cooled seats (and cupholders), along with a heated steering wheel and remote start make for comfortable touring regardless of the weather. And the interior trim is, in a word, gorgeous, with matte wood, supple leather and hints of brushed metal throughout.

Miles ahead? Long-term 2015 Chrysler 200S intro

05/05/2015

Chrysler introduced its new and much-needed 2015 200 at the 2014 Detroit auto show (“Performance and Style,” Feb. 3, 2014), trumpeting that to cut new-car development costs, the model has more than its fair share of Fiat/Alfa bits. The Alfa Giulietta, Fiat Viaggio and Dodge Dart share platform pieces under what Chrysler calls its Compact U.S. Wide architecture. You won’t see or touch most of the shared stuff—we’re talking suspension pieces, brakes and the like.

To see how much the new 200 improved (or didn’t improve) over the old model, we added one to our long-term fleet.

How would the new car fare? Would it really be a fresh start, burying Sebring memories? Would it hold up over a year under our heavy right feet?

The luxury-oriented 2015 Chrysler 300C, left, and the sportier Chrysler 300S, right

2015 Chrysler 300 first drive

12/22/2014
What is it?
 
It’s the first Chrysler 300 update in four years, and it enhances the 300’s appeal without significantly shifting its spot in the automotive universe. Launched by the newly minted Fiat Chrysler Automotive group (FCA), the 2015 Chrysler 300 is still as American as they come.
 
That’s largely because, on a continent full of front-drive Chevy Impala, Ford Taurus and Toyota Avalon competition, the 300 and its Dodge Charger corporate stablemate remain unique among mainstream American sedans. They’re built on rear-drive platforms with longitudinal engines. On one hand, the ’15 300 update is mild: a facelift front, rear, and inside, a couple of mechanical enhancements, more techno-gizmos and a trim realignment. On the other, the impact of the sum exceeds the parts. The new Chrysler 300 is refined, modernized and more distinguished than it’s been in years. 
The Chrysler 300 SRT lurks in the woods of New Jersey.

2014 Chrysler 300 SRT Premium

Race Organizer Review

06/25/2014 The 24 Hours of LeMons season is in full swing, which means that I'm traveling the country in carny fashion--though instead of hosing out the Tilt-a-Whirl and riding in a decrepit Winnebago, I'm applying strange punishments to bad drivers and subjecting new cars to the rigors of the
The new 2015 Chrysler 200 finally gives the brand a competitive midsize sedan.

2015 Chrysler 200 drive review

03/22/2014 What is it?The 2015 Chrysler 200 is a make-or-break product for the recently renamed Fiat Chrysler Automobiles, doing battle in the single largest slice of the auto market: midsize family sedans. It's also symbolic, a car which Chrysler can use finally to bury the memory of the Sebring and earlier 200 – along with the ghosts of DaimlerChrysler and Cerberus. The 2015 Chrysler 200 represents a fresh start. It looks like one too: Though there's little controversial about the design, it's an attractive, fluid shape that comes off better on the road than in photos. Curves abound, accentuating both front fascia and rear haunches, with a pronounced shoulder flowing into the trunklid and delivering the coupelike profile currently in vogue. Accents vary by model: The lineup consists of base 200 LX starting at $22,695; one step up, buyers can opt for the luxury-themed 200 Limited or the more aggressive 200S in the $25k range; at the top sits the 200C startin
The 2014 Chrysler Town & Country S is the perfect vehicle for hauling people and stuff around town.

2014 Chrysler Town & Country S review notes

02/10/2014 EXECUTIVE EDITOR RORY CARROLL: This 2014 Chrysler Town & Country S is a very nice minivan and one of the few cars capable of seating six adults in comfort. Sure, you can stuff them into a folding third row in a lot of different SUVs, but then you're usually making compromises with interior luggage capacity. I had the good fortune to be given the T&C for an airport run with my family -- six adults and a week's worth of their luggage. We threw our things in the back and crowded in. The Chrysler carried us down the highway, never once eliciting a complaint from my passengers. The interior is dressed up a bit, and while some of the materials aren't quite Chrysler's best, you'll be pleasantly surprised at how nice it is inside for $36,175. It's not what you'd call fast, but it's quicker than you'd expect, and it even handles well. When you need a minivan, only a minivan will do. EDITOR WES RAYNAL:
The 200 gets you from point A to point B, but for the car enthusiast, look elsewhere or wait for the new one

2013 Chrysler 200 Limited sedan review notes

Look elsewhere

07/25/2013 WEST COAST EDITOR MARK VAUGHN: This 2013 Chrysler 200 Limited is a big improvement over the one I had last year. On this one, nothing fell off. I couldn't say the same about the last one. So that's progress. This one still has that weird low-frequency shudder when you're creeping out of a driveway with the brake pedal partially depressed. There is still the same side-to-side moderate torque steer pull of the steering wheel during hard acceleration. But last year, during that hard acceleration, the 200 got a 0-60 time of 6.5 seconds which, when you consider the car, is remarkable. And while nothing fell off it this time, I can't mince words here: The 200 felt flimsy. It reminded me of a recent drive in a Dodge Dart, a car even more flimsy than this one. That Dart cured me of the belief that all European cars were handling dynamos. The 200, meanwhile, is still a rehashed Chrysler Sebring, with a lowered ride hei
The T&C is an upscale and luxurious alternative to the Grand Caravan

2013 Chrysler Town & Country Limited review

Try a little T&C

07/09/2013 WEST COAST EDITOR MARK VAUGHN: When the current Chrysler minivan came out five years ago, it was packed with innovative features. There were the Stow 'N' Go, Swivel 'N' Go seats, tailgate rear bench, a table that popped up in the middle, handy kid-monitor rearview mirror, rear seat entertainment galore and a host of other features. It was the ultimate family van. Five years later, as the competition has evolved around it, it is still up there with the best of the class. Being fully qualified to evaluate this 2013 Chrysler Town & Country Limited -- as one of the four in a family of four -- this has everything you could ask for in a family conveyance. In fact, you could fit five kids -- or adults -- easily in back plus the two parents up front, drive them all over the place and no one would complain. Indeed, two years ago we drove halfway across the country in one of these and the only problem wa
The 2012 Chrysler 300 SRT8 performed well during our Autofile testing.

2012 Chrysler 300 SRT8 Autofile sedan review

The Chrylser 300 SRT8 looks mean and has the muscle to back it up

03/29/2013 The Germans don't have a lock on the high-performance luxury sedan market—it just feels that way. Barely a month passes anymore without a pronouncement from Munich, Frankfurt or Ingolstadt about the latest M or AMG or S (or even RS) car that packs big horsepower, monster wheels and mortgage-eligible sticker prices.But sitting over at the Chrysler dealership is a car that can run with the autobahn burners: the Chrysler 300 SRT8. It marries the luxurious, massive interior and trunk real estate Americans crave with a monster motor in the 470-hp 6.4-liter Hemi V8, a heady concoction of pure American badass.The Chrysler 300

Get A New Car Price Quote!

Browse Our Used Car Listings

Latest News

The image the company sent to future owners who have made deposits is a lightly photoshopped sketch that Britain's Autocar magazine published in March of this year.

TVR makes progress on new Cosworth V8, teases owners with Autocar's sketch

12/29/2015

TVR, the boutique British automaker run aground in 2006 after purchase by a Russian oligarch, is back with plenty of deposits on an undisclosed coupe and a teaser image photoshopped from an Autocar magazine sketch. The fledgeling car company is at work on a new coupe powered by a Cosworth V8 with an expected output of 450 to 500 hp, though it won't be until 2018 that customers will be able to take delivery of the cars. The factory has to be built first, even though the first year's allocation is already sold out.

TVR Chairman Les Edgar gave the future owners of the new coupe a progress report, stating that the company is running at least one engineering mule that has been operating on roads, and that they've recently fired up one of the Cosworth V8s.

Watch F1 cars rip up a mountain in Japan

12/29/2015

Two ex-Formula One cars plus one mountain road equals an epic video shot in Japan by Motor Head Magazine.

It's not too often you see open-wheel cars on public roads -- the Stallone vehicle "Driven" notwithstanding -- but something about it makes the cars look even better than when they're on the racetrack. After the F1 cars have a go, they're followed by some drifters who are nearly as impressive.

The camerawork is also great, so check out more of Motor Head's stuff here.

728 x 90 leaderboard